Posts Tagged American Idiot review

Green Day: American Idiot Review

Green Day established themselves in the 90’s as a driving force in the constantly developing punk genre, but with the release of American Idiot, the band moves in a different direction. And although fans will lament the loss shift in style from Dookie, the new focus on arena rock anthems with political undercurrents results in the finest album of 2004. In short, Green Day has never sounded better. An iconic concept album telling the tale of the main character who is known as the Jesus of Suburbia, American Idiot pulses with an intriguing amount of imagery and symbolism to back blazing punk guitar riffs and booming drums. But even more impressive than the group’s first true rock outing is Billy Joe Armstrong’s vocal performance, which makes the change in sound possible. Armstrong’s sarcasm and punk attitude seeps through his aggressive yet perfectly pitched singing, but he also shows some versatility as he rises to the occasion for the album’s more serious songs. When all these elements come together, it’s easy to see why this stellar rock opera has achieved such commercial success, thrusting Green Day into the mainstream spotlight like never before. But this newfound popularity is not because the band has sold out; Green Day has become a household name because American Idiot is their defining work and one of the finest rock albums in the last 20 years.

Standout Tracks

Blaring guitar riffs and pounding drums open “American Idiot,” the album’s title track and phenomenal leadoff track. From Tre Cool’s spunky drum beat to the white-hot guitar riffs, this incredibly infectious and fun single is charged with political angst and disdain for the man that traces back to rock music’s origins. Armstrong is supremely confident in his defiance, showing no fear as he boldly proclaims, “Well maybe I’m the f****t America, I’m not a part of a redneck agenda / Now everybody do the propaganda and sing along to the age of paranoia.” The irreverent resistance embodied by the enjoyable guitar hooks and vulgar lyrics of “American Idiot” are simply too much fun to ignore, starting the album off on an electric note.

Following the pure and unadulterated joy of “Holiday,” Armstrong and company provide the first truly somber note of the album with “Boulevard Of Broken Dreams,” a melancholy hard ballad that speaks of loneliness and depression. The echoing resonance of Armstrong’s opening guitar surges with power and immediately draws the listener in, while Mike Dirnt’s deep bass hook adds to the gloomy atmosphere. Closing the song on a spectacularly epic note, Armstrong stops singing and lets the band’s music speak for itself with heavy riffs and the deep rumble of drums.

But for all their political sarcasm and amusing imagery, Green Day proves they aren’t a one dimensional group with the incredibly powerful rock ballad “Wake Me Up When September Ends,” which is easily the most profound piece of music the band will ever write. The light and endearing guitar riff gives the song a sense of sadness and reflection, while Cool’s steady but heavy drum beat adds to its majesty and larger-than-life atmosphere. But here is where Armstrong shows his greatest skill and poise, delivering heartfelt and composed vocals, even when the bigger and heavier moments come. The song’s excellent composition is matched only by its strong anti-war sentiment in its heartbreaking depiction of losing loved ones during war, making it the best song of American Idiot by far.

The Verdict

From the masterful composition and narrative of “Jesus Of Suburbia” to the outright arena rock of “St. Jimmy,” Green Day shows versatility and true musicianship for the first time in their career. Although Dookie will always hold a special place in punk fans’ hearts, it’s impossible to ignore the incredible progression Green Day makes with American Idiot, a more meaningful and musically eclectic entry in the band’s already impressive repertoire. From its superb guitar riffs to Armstrong’s well-suited vocals that perfectly match the tone and mood of each song, American Idiot surges with unruly fun, political opinion and sincere sentiment, making it the band’s defining album worthy of mainstream recognition. Fans of My Chemical Romance, Blink-182, Rise Against, Sum 41, Franz Ferdinand, Fall Out Boy, The All-American Rejects and Jet likely already hail this album as the rock masterpiece that it is, but there is no doubt that American Idiot marks a turning point for the band and represents a vastly improved and ultimately more memorable Green Day.

Final Score: 10/10

Rank: 1st (eleven total albums)

Track List

  1. American Idiot
  2. Jesus Of Suburbia/City Of The Damned/I Don’t Care/Dearly Beloved/Tales Of Another Broken Home
  3. Holiday
  4. Boulevard Of Broken Dreams
  5. Are We The Waiting
  6. St. Jimmy
  7. Give Me Novacaine
  8. She’s A Rebel
  9. Extraordinary Girl
  10. Letterbomb
  11. Wake Me Up When September Ends
  12. Homecoming/The Death Of St. Jimmy/East 12th St./Nobody Likes You/Rock And Roll Girlfriend/We’re Coming Home Again
  13. Whatsername


, , , , , , ,


%d bloggers like this: